Colorado Insurance Requirements.

Provider #49264

View Available Courses Here

Continuing Education Requirements

This information is intended to provide answers to commonly asked questions by insurance agents. It is not intended to replace detailed information found in your state’s statutes and regulations. Though we have made reasonable efforts to ensure that the information given is reliable and current, we cannot guarantee that it is. For more information please contact your state insurance department. See contact information below.

Hours Required

Twenty-four (24) hours of CE credit are required biennially, Three (3) of which must be Ethics.

Compliance Date

Last day of the agent's birth month, biennially

Approved Course Delivery Methods

• Independent self-study online or written courses (passing grade of 70% required on final exam)
• Interactive Online

Exam Requirements

A disinterested 3rd party must proctor all exams. (i.e. someone with no business or family relationship to the student). The student must receive a score of 70% or better to earn course credit.

Course Subject Requirements

• At least 18 credit hours must be approved in the agent’s line of authority.
• Agents who have a dual license may split the hours between categories.
• All licensees must complete 3 hours of Ethics.
•Producers with a Property or Personal Lines line of authority must complete three (3) hours of homeowners continuing education.

:Resident producers who wish to market long term care products must complete a one time, 16 hour approved course, 8 hours of which shall consist of log-term care, generally, and 8  hours of which shall be specific to long term care partnerships in a classroom setting.  The ongoing training required shall be no less than 5 hours in a classroom setting.
• Resident producers in the sale, consultation, or adjustment of claims-made policies are required to complete a one-time, two hour approved course devoted to claims-made policies.
• Resident producers who are licensed in property and casualty or personal lines who may sell flood insurance are required to complete a one time 3 hour approved course relating to the NFIP.
• Producers selling annuities must complete a one-time 4 hour annuity training course. The enforcement of this training provision is with insurance companies.

Carryover Credits

Agents may carryover 12 excess CE credits, (excluding ethics) earned during the 120 days prior to their compliance date, to the next reporting period.  Carryover credits do not apply to first-time licensees.

Course Repetition

Credit will not be given for courses taken more than once within two-years of its original completion date, except for courses that deal with statutory updates.  All elegible courses will have a different course number.

Exemptions

• First time licensees have until their second continuation cycle to comply
• Producers licensed to only write4 one or more of the following authorities: Travel Ticket Selling, Bail Bonding, Title, Limited Lines Credit, and Crop Hail.  
• Nonresident licensees, whose resident state has a reciprocal agreement with Colorado and who complies with the CE requirement of their home state are exempt.

Credit Reporting

Cape will report credits to Sircon within 30 days of course completion. A course completion certificate will be issued within seven (7) days of successful completion of a course for the agent’s records.

Contact Information:

If you have any questions regarding renewal or credits, please contact:

ASI/Colorado Division of Insurance
P.O. Box 99509
Denver, CO 80209-9509
(800) 930-3745
http://www.dora.state.co.us/insurance/

Contact Cape:

Cape School, Inc.
P.O. Box 169
Buckingham, VA 23921
Phone: 800-729-7363
Fax: 888-303-1828
Or email us below

 

View Available Courses Here

Have Questions? Call us at #888-272-9229  or reach us by email at pat@capeschool.com