North Carolina Insurance Requirements.

Provider #10732

View Available Courses Here


Continuing Education Requirements

This information is intended to provide answers to commonly asked questions by insurance agents. It is not intended to replace detailed information found in your state’s statutes and regulations. Though we have made reasonable efforts to ensure that the information given is reliable and current, we cannot guarantee that it is. For more information please contact your state insurance department. See contact information below.

Hours Required

24 credit hours of continuing education every two years.

Compliance Date

The last day of the licensee’s birth month, based on the birth year (even or odd).

Approved Course Delivery Methods

• Written and Online self-study courses (passing grade of 70% required on final exam)
• Classroom

Exam Requirements

Self-study written final exams must be monitored by a disinterested 3rd party (i.e. someone who has no business or family connection with the student.) Online exams do not require a monitor. Interactive Online courses do not require a monitor

Course Subject Requirements

All licensees are required to complete 3 credit hours in Ethics every two years.

All resident agents that hold property or personal lines, all resident adjusters, and any nonresident adjusters with North Carolina CE requirements must complete 3 hours of Flood in the first compliance period and then every other compliance period thereafter (every 4 years). 

LTCP Requirement - Those individuals who hold an accident and health or sickness license, a Medicare/Supplement Long-Term Care limited lines license and who sells, solicits or negotiates Long-Term Care Partnership (LTCP) Policies shall complete eight (8) hours LTCP education. After meeting the initial eight (8) hour requirement, four (4) hours of LTCP education is required every biennial compliance period thereafter.

The LTCP is not a continuing education requirement, companies are required to provide agent compliance upon request. In order for companies to be able to track that their agents have taken the required training, Prometric will award LTC Partnership credit to courses that cover the LTC Partnership Material. It will be displayed on the agent's transcripts. Any LTC Partnership credits earned will go towards the agent's general CE requirement.

Adjusters must take 24 hours biennially including 3 hours of Ethics. Adjusters must also complete 3 hours of Flood taken every 4 years.

Carryover Credits

There are no minimum or maximum requirements for CE credit hours to carryover, any amount over the required number of CE hours will carry forward to the next biennial compliance period.

Course Repetition

Courses may not be repeated for credit within the same compliance period.

Self Study Exam Requirements A disinterested 3rd party must proctor all written exams. Online exams do not require a proctor. The student must receive a score of 70% or better to earn course credit.

Exemptions

Exemptions from insurance CE are only available for military and medical reasons.

Credit Reporting

Cape will report credits to Prometric within 15 days of course completion. A certificate of completion will still be provided to the licensee for their records.

Contact Information:

If you have any questions regarding renewal or credits, please contact:

Prometric
Attn: North Carolina CE
1260 Energy Lane
St. Paul, MN 55108
(866) 241-3121
www.prometric.com

North Carolina Department of Insurance
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1201
800-546-5664 - in North Carolina Only
919-807-6750 - outside North Carolina 

 http://www.ncdoi.com/ 

Contact Cape:

Cape School, Inc.
P.O. Box 169
Buckingham, VA 23921

Phone: 800-729-7363
Fax: 888-303-1828
Or email us below

 

View Available Courses Here

Have Questions? Call us at #888-272-9229  or reach us by email at pat@capeschool.com