Tennessee Insurance Requirements.
This information is intended to provide answers to commonly asked questions by insurance agents. It is not intended to replace detailed information found in your state’s statutes and regulations. Though we have made reasonable efforts to ensure that the information given is reliable and current, we cannot guarantee that it is. For more information please contact your state insurance department. See contact information below.
Adjusters and Producers are required to complete 24 hours, biennially, including 3 hours of ethics.
Biennially. Effective immediately, producers will renew their licenses before the last day of their birth month.
Approved Course Delivery Methods
• Independent self-study online or written courses
• Seminar (only 50% of the required hours may be earned through this method)
• Interactive Online
Exams are open-book and a passing grade of 70% is required on final exams.
Course Subject Requirements
• All Producers must complete 3 credit hours in ethics, biennially.
•Effective November 1, 2015 - Insurance Producers who hold a life insurance line of authority and who desire to sell annuities must complete a one-time four (4) hour credit training course within six (6) months after the effective date. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority on or after the effective date many not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity training course required has been completed.
All Producers who are authorized to sell "property insurance" or who is authorized to sell both property and "casualty insurance must complete a one-time 3 hours requirement in flood insurance.
• Any Producer who sells long-term care insurance must complete a one-time, eight (8) hour training course in long-term care insurance approved by the Department prior to selling any long-term care insurance product in the state. After the initial 8 hours producers who wish to continue to sell long-term care insurance are required to complete an additional 4 hours of continuing education every twenty-four months. These courses may be counted towards meeting a producer's twenty-four hour continuing education requirements. Training can occur in the classroom or online.
A maximum of 12 credits may be carried over to the next reporting period. All credits carried over will be counted as general credits.
Certificates of completion for courses previously submitted and approved for credit may only be repeated and submitted for credit after two (2) years.
A course taken in the last renewal cycle from which credits are carried over into the current renewal period will be seen as a duplicate course in the current renewal period.
• Individuals who have been licensed continuously in Tennessee since 1994
• Non-resident agents if their home state has CE requirements and has a reciprocal agreement with Tennessee
Cape will report credits to SBS within seven days of the course completion. A course completion certificate is provided for the agent’s records.
If you have any questions regarding renewal or credits, please contact:
Pearson VUE: 1-888-274-6272 or http://www.pearsonvue.com/
Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
Agent Licensing Section
500 James Robertson Parkway, 4th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
Cape School, Inc.
P.O. Box 169
Buckingham, VA 23921
Or email us below
Have Questions? Call us at #888-272-9229 or reach us by email at firstname.lastname@example.org